top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Why I Miss Walking During Home Confinement

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


I was born and raised in Baguio which is a mountainous region in the Philippines. Our house is located at the foot of a series of steep steps. So when I was old enough to go to preschool, I had to climb the stairs and walk every weekday to go to school. Aside from that, some of my family members and neighbors also asked me to buy something in the stores located at the top of the stairs. Also if I had to go to town, I had to climb the stairs and walk to reach the jeepney station. And when I go downtown, I also walk around because I don’t want to spend much on transportation. Thankfully, the weather in Baguio is cool enough so I don’t feel uncomfortable whenever I walk. I was accustomed to climbing the stairs and walking a lot since I was a child.


When I was in my 20’s, I went on a mission in Quezon City which is a populous area in the capital of the Philippines. Since going on a mission is voluntary, I was not paid so I walked around my assigned area to be economical. Needless to say, walking has a big part in my life. It’s free and it’s a good exercise for a person like me who is not interested in sports.


When I got pregnant, I continued walking to go to work but I limited it because I felt lazy to walk and it’s time-consuming. Then when I started vaginal bleeding in my 5th month of pregnancy, my doctor advised me to limit physical activities. So I didn’t do any household chores at home. But I had to climb the stairs to reach the jeepney station whenever I had to work.


Unfortunately, I still had bleeding so the doctor asked me to take a leave from work for 1 month and rest. So now I just walk whenever I had to go to the toilet. That is only 8 meters.


It’s my second day and I already miss walking. I prefer walking because of many reasons. Aside from the 2 advantages I’ve previously mentioned, there are more benefits based on my experience. Whenever I walk, I take time to see the buildings or establishments along the way. When I spot something I like, I can just easily stop and drop by the establishment. Another advantage is my concern with the environment. Public or private vehicles emit smoke which pollute the air.


Lastly, walking can lessen traffic jams caused by the increasing number of vehicles on the road.

Being confined at home is not easy especially for me who likes to work but looking on the bright side, I can still walk i.e., from my bed to the toilet.


These are traditional houses at Mt. Kalugong Eco Park.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page