top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Worry Not (How to Avoid Unnecessary Worrying)

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


I wish my worries would disappear as the early morning fog dissipates when the sun shines.

I know that worrying does not do me any good but since I started having vaginal bleeding, I’d been worrying a lot. I have a lot of worries and fears but what I fear the most is having a miscarriage. I read that most miscarriages occur within the first trimester and I’m relieved I’m already in my second trimester. However, I heard of other pregnant women who had a miscarriage within the second or third trimester.


My loved ones always tell me not to worry but it’s easier said than done. While I was feeling self-pity, I remembered a book I read when I was in high school. It was a book by Dale Carnegie entitled ‘How to Stop Worrying and Start Living’. I forgot the steps the author suggested to overcome worrying but I remember that worrying will not help me solve my problems. I immediately searched the book in our cabinet. I searched all the corners of the cabinet but it wasn’t there. So I opted to search the internet and I’m glad I found a copy. I read the book again and I remembered the timeless pieces of advice that helped me take it easy and not to be stressed out. I’d like to share what I understood and my insights about some of his advice that made a lasting impression in my life.


1. Live in the present.

Of course, it’s important to plan about your future but the point here is not to dwell too much in the future that you tend to ignore the present. Take time to appreciate another day that God has given. Be thankful of your daily blessings even the simple things like the air you breathe, the cup of warm drink for breakfast prepared by a loved one or a smile by a neighbor.


2. Worrying can make you sick.

You might have already noticed that whenever you worry, your heart palpitates and you become agitated. I think there’s nothing wrong with feeling excited but too much of this is destructive to your physical and mental state. For some, they have a headache or stomachache. But for some, they become pessimist, loner, and suicidal.


3. Rather than worrying, try solving the problem.

This one makes sense. Let’s say you worry that you will get fired because you’re always late. Instead of worrying, think of ways you can do to retain your position. You could wake up earlier than usual so you won’t be late or you if sleep through your alarm, consider buying another one. Or you could ask a loved one to wake you up. There are many ways to solve the problem and worrying will just worsen the problem.


But what if the problem is out of your control. Let’s say, you are already late because you’re caught in a traffic jam. You are forced to endure the agonizing waiting moment in the vehicle thinking what your boss and coworkers might tell you. Even if that’s the case, I believe that you still have a control of the situation. It’s your choice whether you dwell on your worries or not. Even though you cannot change the situation, you can think of ways on how to deal with your boss and coworkers later. You could work overtime to compensate or you exert more effort in doing the project assigned to you.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page