top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

How to Cope During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


Stay Home
Stay Home

When I first heard the news about COVID-19 affecting many people in China, I didn’t think that it will have a big impact on me and my family. I just thought that it will come and go like the others. Unfortunately, the virus kept on spreading and my country had its first COVID-19 case from a Chinese. From a single positive case, the numbers kept on increasing.


Many of my countrymen tested positive of the virus and some of them died. Many people started to panic buy. They bought lots of masks and alcohol until all drugstores ran out of N95 masks. My city also got its first positive case. Then the government put the capital city of the Philippines into lockdown. After a few days, the entire Luzon followed. Then the entire country. My husband stopped working as a freelancer because it is not allowed. Many businesses closed temporarily. Many people were stranded from different places. There was no public transportation, so some people walked hundreds of kilometers to go home.


During the first week, I didn’t worry that much since I still have stocks. I’m accustomed to staying at home most of the time because I work at home. I usually go out once or twice a week. After 2 weeks, I ran out of essential items. Fortunately, our city allowed public transportation on special days and time. If I’m not busy, I binge watch Kdramas.


As the days go by, I grew tired of watching. I wanted to go downtown without limitations. I wanted to feel confident that the virus won’t infect me, my family, and everyone. I wanted to go to the hospital for my baby’s checkup without the risk of being infected with COVID-19. I wanted everything to go back to normal. However, I’m not sure when those things will happen. That’s why I thought of ways on how my family and I can cope during these difficult times.


1. Pray and fast.

Prayer and fasting are ways to become closer to the Lord. In these difficult times, the more we need God in our lives.


It says in Psalm 55:22: “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee…”

2. Follow the rules.

The government has enforced a lot of rules for a reason. Though sometimes we don’t agree with their emergency preparedness protocols, it is important to follow the rules. All our actions can affect someone or something. We don’t want someone to get infected directly or indirectly because of our disobedience and carelessness.

3. Spend wisely.

Because most businesses stopped, most people including my husband stopped working. That means he and my daughter rely on me financially. That’s why whatever amount we have, we have to buy only the essentials.

4. Share and serve.

In most places, only authorized people can go out and only authorized services can be availed. It just proves that all of us have the same basic needs: food and health care. If we have extra, share. If we don’t have food to share, we can serve.

5. Be humane.

I heard of some people who discriminate against health workers, PUIs (Patients Under Investigation), and PUMs (Persons Under Monitoring). This news saddens me because others have become heartless. Health workers, PUIs, and PUMs are humans too who deserve to be treated as such.

6. Ask for help.

If you don’t have food to eat or if you need any help, don’t hesitate to ask help from your family, friends, barangay, or church where you attend. For sure, at least one of them will help you.

Rich or poor, male or female, everyone can be affected by this virus. Let us take care of ourselves and be united. Together we will fight against COVID-19.


7. If possible, work from home.

Working from home has advantages. You can work in the comfort of your home. There’s still a risk of catching the virus, but the chances are slim. When you work from home, you can also have more time for yourself and your family.


8. Engage in online selling and/or bartering.

Declutter your things that can be sold or bartered. There are many Facebook groups where you can post what you want to sell or barter. I’ve been doing these for almost 2 years and it’s a big help. Just be careful in your transactions because there are bogus buyers.

9. Grow your food.

I saw some posts of people living in condominiums or apartments with limited space who planted fruits/vegetables in pots. Even though they don’t have backyard gardens, they have harvested food. By growing your food, you can be sure it's fresh.


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page