top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Breastfeeding for the First Time

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


I read books and blogs about breastfeeding. I wanted to prepare so I could have smooth breastfeeding. I read that it would be painful especially if the latch is incorrect so I read about proper latching. Since one of my nipples is inverted, I prepared by using a syringe without the needle to pull the nipple out. I also applied some baby oil on another nipple since it’s dry. I also bought a breast pump, breast pads, and nipple cream. I thought I was prepared but when the time came for me to breastfeed my baby, I realized how difficult it is.


Even though I studied how to have a proper latching, the initial latching was still painful. My breasts are not accustomed to my baby feeding on my breasts. And my baby and I are still getting acquainted with breastfeeding. My breasts bled and became sore and tender. At first, only the other nipple was sore so I breastfed my baby using the other breast. Soon the other was also affected. I dreaded whenever it was time to breastfeed my baby. But I knew that continuous breastfeeding is important. My baby needs the nutrients in my breastmilk.


I almost wanted to give formula milk to my daughter but I’m thankful I didn’t give up my plan to breastfeed exclusively. My husband and my family are supportive of me. After giving birth, it was difficult for me to move so my husband helped me. After breastfeeding our baby, he burps our baby. He also changes her diaper. Basically, he does everything except breastfeeding. When my breasts were engorged and my nipples were bleeding, he was the one who manually expressed milk from my breast.


The nurses in the hospital taught me how to properly latch and hold my baby. I used to be too conscious of my privacy but now I don’t care if nurses, doctors or my family see my breasts. All I care about is learning how to effectively breastfeed my baby. I asked help from nurses on duty to help me position my baby for her to properly latch. I wasn’t conscious of them seeing and touching my breasts. I also asked some of them to teach me how to manually express milk from my breasts. I’m glad they obliged.


After 2 weeks, my nipples healed. My baby and I are becoming acquainted with breastfeeding. I started to enjoy breastfeeding. But then my nipples became sore again so I felt frustrated. I thought of asking for milk donations and even thought of asking a wet nurse’s help. But people told me I just have to continue breastfeeding my daughter. Soon it will get better. Thankfully, it really got better. After a month, everything was going well. My nipples are not sore and tender anymore. Most importantly they don’t bleed anymore.

bonding with my daughter in the NICU


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page