top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Vaginal Bleeding in Pregnancy

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


image from babyinfo.com.au

When I bled for the first time during my pregnancy, I was shocked because I knew that there was something wrong. From what I’ve read, bleeding in the first trimester could be normal but I wasn’t aware of bleeding during the second trimester and third trimester.


I asked my OB and she told me that my cervix is getting thin and told me that I’m at risk of preterm labor so I have to limit my activity. I wasn’t sure what that means so I immediately searched for answers.


It’s crazy but I was not sure of the significance of my cervix. My doctor didn’t elaborate on my cervix getting thin so I didn’t know the effect of that in my pregnancy so I did my homework. I read a lot of books and informative posts online to be familiar with this.


Before I write about preterm labor, I want to explain first about the cervix and its significance.


What is the function of the cervix?

Based on The Pregnancy Book, the cervix is “the neck of the uterus. It is normally closed, with just small opening through which blood passes during monthly periods”.

When the mother is on labor, the cervix will dilate (widen) and efface (shorten and thin) to let the baby move from the uterus into the vagina.


What is preterm labor?

This is also called premature labor. If the mother starts having uterine contractions and cervical dilation, before the 37th week of pregnancy, she is in preterm labor (premature labor). A baby is considered preterm (premature) if he or she is born prior to 37 weeks.


What are the signs of preterm labor?

These are the 12 signs of preterm labor according to A Healthy start for Baby and Me:

1. Bleeding from your vagina.

2. Sudden increase in the amount of discharge from your vagina.

3. Sudden change in the type of discharge (mucous, watery, bloody).

4. Water leaking from your vagina.

5. Low dull backache below the waist that feels different than usual.

6. An urgent need to pass urine, or the need to pee often.

7. Feeling that something is not right.

8. Cramps like when you have your period.

9. Pressure that feels like the baby is pushing down.

10. Contractions (tightening of the uterus) that come often and do not go away.

11. Contractions that get stronger and closer.

12. Stomach pains that do not go away (with or without diarrhea).


If you experience any of the symptoms above, you have to inform your doctor right away because preterm labor could be a threat to the health of the baby. That’s why mothers should be able to recognize the signs of preterm labor.


As for me, I was put on limited (modified) bed rest. I am allowed to go to the bathroom. I can also eat at the dining table but most of the time, I spend my day on the bed. My doctor also prescribed Progesterone suppositories.


References:

National Health Service. (2009). The Pregnancy Book. Retrieved from www.nhs.uk/pregnancyplanner

Best Start Resource Centre. (2016). A Healthy start for Baby and Me. Retrieved from https://www.beststart.org


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page