top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Supplements I Took During My Pregnancy

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


image from medscape.com
1. Folic Acid

It is used to protect babies against neural tube defects or birth defects.


I was expecting that I’d have a honeymoon baby but after months of trying, I didn’t get pregnant. In July, my husband and I decided to go to a doctor and the doctor prescribed that I take Folart one tablet a day for 30 days. It costs 9.25/tablet and it contains 5 mg of folic acid.


When we found out that I was pregnant, we went to another doctor and she prescribed the same supplement. I took this supplement one capsule a day for 30 days. After one month, I went back to my doctor and she prescribed anther brand- Folacid to be taken one capsule a day for 30 days. It costs 7.50/capsule and it also contains 5 mg of folic acid.


2. Multivitamins/Minerals

Along with Folart, the doctor also prescribed that I take Natalwiz one capsule a day for 30 days. It costs 8.75 each. It contains these various vitamins and minerals:


Taurine- 100 mg

Vit A- 3,454 IU

Vit D3- 420 IU

Vit E- 11 IU

Thiamine mononitrate- 2 mg

Riboflavin- 2 mg

Pyridoxine HCI- 2 mg

Cyanocobalamin- 3.6 mcg

Ascorbic acid- 140 mg

Folic acid- 450 mcg

Niacinamide- 20 mg

Ferrous sulfate- 32 mg

Calcium pantothenate- 6 mg

Calcium phosphate- 330 mg

Zinc sulfate- 15 mg

Potassium iodide- 135 mcg

Copper sulfate- 1 mg

Magnesium oxide- 2.5 mg

Manganese sulfate- 1 mg


After one month, she prescribed another brand of Multivitamins/Minerals. I took Obynal-M one capsule a day for 30 days. It costs 10.50/capsule. It contains these various vitamins and minerals:


Vit A- 5,000 IU

Vit B1- 3 mg

Vit B2- 3 mg

Vit B6- 10 mg

Vit B12- 6 mcg

Vit C- 100 mg

Vit D- 200 IU

Vit E- 30 IU

Niacinamide- 20 mg

Calcium pantothenate- 6 mg

Folic acid- 250 mcg

Iron fumarate- 60 mg

Calcium lactate- 250 mg

Iodine- 150 mcg

Magnesium- 5 mg

Manganese- 1 mg

Copper- 500 mcg

Zinc- 500 mcg

Flouride- 500 mcg


3. Calcium

Along with Folacid and Obynal-M, I was prescribed to take calcium supplements- Calvit one tablet twice a day for 30 days. It costs 8/tablet. It contains 1,566 mg of Calcium Carbonate and 200 IU of Vit D.


4. Iron

In January, the doctor prescribed that I take Sorbifer Durules once a day for 30 days. It costs 11.25/capsule. It contains 310 mg of Ferrous Sulfate.



Note: The cost of the supplements may vary.


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page