top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Songs for My Child

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


image from moziru.com

When I found out I’m pregnant, I was beyond excited. I made a lot of plans and one of my plans is to make a video for my baby. I searched for music that is good for background music. I chose songs that have wholesome lyrics and pleasant music. It’s hard to search because most of the songs are about romantic love. Fortunately, my research paid off. I found some songs that are appropriate for my child. I didn’t know I am having a daughter so I searched for songs that are appropriate for both genders. So when I found out I’m going to have a daughter, I researched again and I found some wonderful songs.


Songs for My Child (Boy or Girl)

1. ‘Home’ performed by Phillip Phillips

The singer was the winner of Season 11 of American Idol. Even though the song is about friendship, I think this is still appropriate for parental love. What I like most are the 2 lines that are repeated in the song:

Just know you’re not alone

Cause I’m going to make this place your home


That is what I want. I want my child to feel secure and loved. I want her to feel that she’s not alone. Her parents and other loved ones are here to nurture her.

2. 'Upside Down' written and performed by Jack Johnson

If you’ve watched an animated film titled ‘Curious George’, you might have heard the featured song ‘Upside Down’.


I like this song because it emphasizes the fact that in spite of the negative things around me, I can still do great things. And one of the greatest things that I can do is to decide to have a baby.


3. 'Amazing' performed by Janelle

From these lyrics- You came from heaven…

You’re so amazing you shine like the stars


I can say that this song beautifully describes the arrival of the baby. I also love the wonderful hopes of the mother to her child which are my hopes as well:


I hope your tears are few and fast

I hope your dreams come true at last

I hope you find love that goes on and on and on and on

I hope you wish on every star

I hope you never fall too far

I hope this world can see how wonderful you are


Songs for My Daughter

4. 'Capri' written and performed by Colbie Caillat

This thoughtful song is dedicated to the singer’s friend who is pregnant with a baby girl named Capri. I don’t have any intentions to name my daughter Capri but I love the message of the song so I included this. I like how the singer lovingly describes the mother and the baby as beautiful. Truly, mothers and daughters are beautiful to look at.


5. 'Dear Daughter' performed by Halestorm

This song contains pieces of advice I’m going to tell my daughter when she’s old enough to understand. These are my favorites:


a. Hold your head up high.

b. Never lose yourself.

c. Don’t change for any man.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page