top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

How I Beat Constipation in Pregnancy

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


image from helloflo.com

People don’t usually admit that they have constipation but this is common especially for pregnant women so I want to share the foods/ drinks that I’ve tried which worked for me. I always had constipation and I tried almost everything from natural to artificial products. I was naive before because every time I had constipation, I just took a medicine. I know deep inside that this dependency is wrong so I researched natural ways on how to deal with constipation. Before I write about the top 5 foods/ drinks that stopped my suffering in the toilet, I’d like to enumerate the top 3 foods/drinks that worsened my constipation.


Top 3 things that worsened my constipation:


1. Banana

I thought that there’s only one kind of banana that worsens constipation but in my case, I tried all kinds of banana and they just made my stools firm. So I don’t usually eat bananas. However, if I just eat a little, it’s fine.


2. Fresh milk

When I stayed in Manila 5 years ago, the canteen where I ate offered fresh milk every breakfast. I drank these and it worsened my constipation. When I realized this, I switched back to drinking Milo.


3. Calcium supplement

I was given a bottle of calcium supplement when I was serving a mission 6 years ago. I know the importance of taking calcium so I didn’t hesitate taking it but I noticed that every time I take a calcium tablet, I had a difficulty having a bowel movement so I decided to stop taking this.

When I got pregnant, my doctor prescribed calcium supplement. The brand was different so I thought this will not make me constipated so I took it. But the effect was the same. I told my doctor about this so she asked me to double the pregnancy milk I drink to compensate for me not taking a calcium supplement.


Top 7 things that made me beat constipation:


1. Lemon

I drink a glass of lemon juice first thing in the morning and it made a difference. After drinking this, I wait for about 30 minutes then I eat breakfast. For some especially office workers, this could be time-consuming but doing this works wonders.


2. Dates

My sister who works in the Middle East brought home a lot of these so I tried eating them. I liked the taste and the effect because it made me have regular bowel movements. Because it’s too sweet, drinking more water is recommended.


3. Yoghurt and Yakult

Whenever I feel that there’s something wrong in my tummy, I drink either yoghurt or Yakult. I prefer plain yoghurt (any brand) and Yakult. I’ve tried other probiotic drinks but in my experience, Yakult is the most effective so I stick to this brand.


4. Papaya

This is the most common fruit that people eat whenever they have constipation. And when I ask others what they think worked for them, most of them said papaya is the best. This is one of the best fruits and it’s a healthy snack.


5. Alkaline water

Before, I bought 1 liter of alkaline water almost every day because I noticed a difference when I drank this. But a relative of mine offered me Waters Bio Mineral Pot 1000 Noah+. After much consideration, I bought these because it’s more economical rather than buying 1 liter bottle daily.


6. Dragon Fruit

This fruit may look weird but it tastes great and in my honest opinion, it’s more effective than oral laxatives. Don’t be surprised if your urine and poop have a pinkish tinge.


7. Chia Seeds

Thankfully my sister introduced these amazing seeds. I love these because I can mix this to whatever food or drink I like to eat. Like dragon fruit, it works efficiently.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page