top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

Buying and Selling Online in the Philippines: Terms and Tips

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


image from sheknows.com

My daughter is still a newborn so I limit going out if it’s not important. I just go out for church or my daughter’s checkup and vaccination. I don’t want to expose my child to pollution and communicable sicknesses. My husband is the one who buys groceries and food at the market. However, I don’t want him to be the one to buy for our daughter’s clothes and other needs. I want to personally choose the style that is best suited for my daughter. Thankfully, there are a lot of online stores available. I choose sellers in my city so that I don’t have to pay for the shipping fee.


At first, I didn’t know the meaning of some of the online selling terms so I just used my common sense. I also asked the seller. Here is a list of common terms used by online sellers or buyers.


1. Mine

It means you want to buy the item.


2. Steal

For mine-steal-grab basis, you can ‘steal’ the item if someone already ‘mined’.


3. Grab

For mine-steal-grab basis, you can ‘grab’ the item if you really want the item. Grab price is the highest among the 3.


4. Next

For mine basis, comment ‘next’ if the item is already ‘mined’ and you want to be considered as the next buyer if the 1st buyer canceled or failed to receive/pay the item/s.


5. Handling fee

This is the additional fee paid by the buyer at the dropping area. It is usually 5 or 10 pesos.


6. Dropping Area

This is where the seller drop the item/s to be received by the buyer.


7. VGUC

Very Good Used Condition


8. GUC

Good Used Condition


9. EUC

Excellent Used Condition


10. Preloved

Another term for secondhand/used items


I tried buying from numerous sellers and I’ve encountered mediocre sellers. Here are some tips for sellers so they could gain loyal customers:


1. Be direct.

Buyers appreciate it if you post important details to avoid wasting time. These details include size (small, medium, large, xl,etc.), length (most especially with dresses/skirts) price, and flaws of the product. Include also whether it is brand-new or secondhand. For babies/kids, indicate the age (e.g., newborn, 1T or, 1 year old, 2T or 2 years old, etc).


2. Be courteous.

Inform the buyer once you dropped the item. Let the buyer know the opening/closing time and operation days of the dropping area. Don’t forget to say thank you. If the buyer wanted to buy a product that is already sold, consider offering other products similar to what the buyer likes.


3. Be honest.

Indicate significant flaws. I once bought a dress for my baby. It has holes that made it look like a rag. The seller didn’t mention any flaws. The price should match the quality of the product. Consider lowering the price if it’s second hand.


4. Be clear.

Inform the buyer of your name that will be indicated on the seller’s name. When corresponding with the buyer, avoid 'jejemon'/slang or abbreviated words because not all people understand these words.


5. Be punctual.

Try to respond to a buyer’s queries as soon as possible.


12,588 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page