top of page
  • Writer's picturemommy writes

5 Things to Consider Before Having a DIY Maternity Photo Shoot

Updated: Jan 20, 2023


I’ve been waiting for this to happen. After 55 days on bed rest, I felt excited to go outside to have a checkup. I felt good and I didn’t have any bleeding after being confined for so long at home so I decided to pursue having a maternity photoshoot outdoors. I immediately searched for some pictures to get ideas on how to take amazing pictures. I also searched for beautiful places that could be possible locations of the photoshoot. Before going out, my husband made sure his camera phone is charged because we’re going to use it.


Do you want to have a DIY maternity photoshoot as well? Here are some factors to consider:


1. Location

Do you want to take pictures indoors or outdoors? If you decide to take pictures outdoors, consider the weather as well. Do you want near or far places? What background do you want- a garden, beach, mountain, etc.? Do you prefer a place you haven’t been to?


As for me, I wanted to go to La Trinidad for a change but it’s far and I should not exert too much physical effort. So my husband and I decided to go to Camp John Hay. I’ve been there many times but there are places I haven’t tried yet. My husband as well hasn’t been there yet so we were excited to go to Camp John Hay. It’s a popular tourist destination that offers a lot of activities and amenities. We chose to take pictures at the Historical Precinct/ Core.


2. Time

Do you want to take pictures in the morning or in the afternoon? Do you prefer to take pictures before sunrise or after sunset?

As for me, we decided to take pictures in the morning because these days it usually rains in my city in the afternoon.


3. Props/ Clothes to wear

Do you want to include props in the photo shoot? What kind of props do you need? Do you prefer to buy, make, or use what’s already available? For the couple especially the mother, what do you prefer to wear?


I chose to make use of what’s already available at home. We took pictures using pregnancy books, baby clothes, and an ultrasound picture. My husband brought my journal but we forgot to use it. I wanted to make use of the name of our baby but until now we haven’t finalized the name for our baby.


4. Poses

What poses do you like? What poses are comfortable?

It’s hard to think of poses when you don’t have a professional photographer. We don’t have one so we searched for possible poses online. Thankfully there are many pictures that gave us ideas.


feeling happy with my baby bump at the Bell House Museum

5. Mother and baby’s wellness

For the mother, do you feel comfortable? Do you want to take pictures when your belly is big enough?

This is the last but I think the most important. Taking pictures/ posing can be exhausting especially if the location is outdoors. Remember that it’s easy for the mother to get tired so frequent rest is needed.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page